top of page
Stang-up Meeting




This past election, we asked candidates across the political spectrum to support your right to a healthy environment by signing the MP pledge for environmental rights. Candidates who signed the pledge were committing to support the recognition in law of the right to a healthy environment.We believe that clean air, water, and soil and a safe and stable climate are fundamental and we know voters agree. In fact, 9/10 Canadians agree that environmental rights should be recognized in law. It is time for our leaders to step forward and ensure Canada joins the over 150 countries that currently recognise the right to a healthy environment. 

Over the course of the 2019 and 2021 elections hundreds of candidates signed the pledge and of these signatories, 100 are now sitting MPs. We want to build on this success and continue to have MPs sign this pledge. We need your help to ensure every MP signs and works to secure your right to a healthy environment. Connect with us at and help secure clean air and water for all.

Note: For those that sign the MP Pledge, it does not indicate endorsement of the candidate by the Coalition for Environmental Rights or any of our component organizations. 

Table: Current as of April 03, 2022.

MPs signed on so far include:


British Columbia 


New Brunswick

Edmonton–Strathcona: Heather McPherson (NDP)

Burnaby–North Seymour: Terry Beech (Liberal)

Burnaby South: Jagmeet Singh (NDP)

Cloverdale—Langley City: John Aldag (Liberal)

Coquitlam–Port Coquitlam: Ron McKinnon (Liberal)

Courtenay—Alberni: Gord Johns (NDP)

Cowichan—Malahat—Langford: Alistair MacGregor (NDP)

Delta: Carla Qualtrough (Liberal)

Esquimalt—Saanich—Sooke: Randall Garrison (NDP)

Fleetwood–Port Kells: Ken Hardie (Liberal)

Saanich–Gulf Islands: Elizabeth May (Green)

New Westminster–Burnaby: Peter Julian (NDP)

North Vancouver: Jonathan Wilkinson (Liberal)

North Island–Powell River: Rachel Blaney (NDP)

Skeena—Bulkley Valley: Taylor Bachrach (NDP)

South Okanagan—West Kootenay: Richard Cannings (NDP)

Surrey Centre: Randeep Sarai (Liberal)

Surrey–Newton: Sukh Dhaliwal (Liberal)

Vancouver–Centre: Hedy Fry (Liberal)

Vancouver East: Jenny Kwan (NDP)

Vancouver Kingsway: Don Davies (NDP)

Vancouver Quadra: Joyce Murray (Liberal)

Victoria: Laurel Collins (NDP)

West Vancouver–Sunshine Coast–Sea to Sky Country: Patrick Weiler (Liberal)

Brandon-Souris: Larry Maguire (Conservative)

Churchill—Keewatinook Aski: Niki Ashton (NDP)

Elmwood—Transcona: Daniel Blaikie (NDP)

Winnipeg Centre: Leah Gazan (NDP)

Winnipeg South: Terry Duguid (Liberal)

Acadie–Bathurst: Serge Cormier (Liberal)

Fredericton: Jenica Atwin (Liberal)


Nova Scotia


Prince Edward Island

Central Nova: Sean Fraser (Liberal)

Dartmouth–Cole Harbour: Darren Fisher (Liberal)

Sackville—Preston—Chezzetcook: Darrell Samson (Liberal)

Ajax: Mark Holland (Liberal)

Algoma—Manitoulin—Kapuskasing: Carol Hughes (NDP)

Beaches—East York: Nathaniel Erskine-Smith (Liberal)

Cambridge: Bryan May (Liberal)

Don Valley West: Rob Oliphant (Liberal)

Davenport: Julie Dzerowicz (Liberal)

Etobicoke–Centre: Yvan Baker (Liberal)

Guelph: Lloyd Longfield (Liberal)

Hamilton Centre: Matthew Green (NDP)

Hamilton Mountain: Lisa Hepfner (Liberal)

Kingston and the Islands: Mark Gerretsen (Liberal)

Kitchener–Conestoga: Tim Louis (Liberal)

Kitchener South—Hespeler: Valerie Bradford (Liberal)

London West: Arielle Kayabaga (Liberal)

Milton - : Adam Van Koeverden (Liberal)

Mississauga–Lakeshore: Sven Spengemann (Liberal)

Oakville-Burlington North: Pam Damoff (Liberal)

Parkdale—High Park: Arif Virani (Liberal)

Pickering—Uxbridge: Jennifer O’Connell (Liberal)

Richmond Hill: Majid Jowhari (Liberal)

Scarborough–Agincourt: Jean Yip (Liberal)

Scarborough Centre: Salma Zahid (Liberal)

Scarborough North: Shaun Chen (Liberal)

Timmins—James Bay: Charlie Angus (NDP)

Toronto—Danforth: Julie Dabrusin (Liberal)

Vaughan—Woodbridge: Franceso Sorbara (Liberal)

Windsor West: Brian Masse (NDP)

Mapleque: Heath McDonald (Liberal)

Will you join us?

One way you can help right now is to email your MP and ask them to sign the MP Pledge. Connect with us at to get started.


Abitibi—Baie-James—Nunavik—Eeyou: Sylvie Bérubé (BQ)

Abitibi—Témiscamingue: Sébastien Lemire (BQ)

Alfred Pellan: MP Angelo Iacono (Liberal)

Avignon—La Mitis—Matane—Matapédia: Kristina Michaud (BQ)

Beauport—Côte-de-Beaupré—Île d’Orléans—

Beauport—Limoilou: Julie Vignola (BQ)

Bécancour–Nicolet–Saurel: Louis Plamondon (BQ)

Beloeil—Chambly: Yves-François Blanchet (BQ)

Berthier—Maskinongé: Yves Perron (BQ)

Brossard—Saint Lambert: Alexandra Mendès (Liberal)

Charlevoix: Caroline Desbiens (BQ)

Dorval—Lachine—LaSalle: Anju Dhillon (Liberal)

Drummond: Martin Champoux (BQ)

Joliette: Gabriel Ste-Marie (BQ)

Jonquière: Mario Simard (BQ)

La Pointe-de-l’Île: Mario Beaulieu (BQ)

La Prairie: Alain Therrien (BQ)

Lac-Saint-Jean: Alexis Brunelle-Duceppe (BQ)

Laurentides—Labelle: Marie-Héléne Gaudreau (BQ)

Longueuil—Charles-LeMoyne: MP Sherry Romanado (Liberal)

Longueuil—Saint-Hubert: Denis Trudel (BQ)

Manicouagan: Marilène Gill (BQ)

Marc-Aurèle-Fortin: Yves Robillard (Liberal)

Montcalm: Luc Thériault (BQ)

Montarville: Stéphane Bergeron (BQ)

Outremont: Rachel Bendayan (Liberal)

Pierre-Boucher—Les Patriotes—Verchères: Xavier-Barsalou-Duval (BQ)

Portneuf–Jacques-Cartier: Joël Godin (Conservative)

Repentigny: Monique Pauzé (BQ)

Rimouski-Neigette—Témiscouata—Les Basques: Maxime Blanchette-Joncas (BQ)

Rivière-du-Nord: Rhéal Éloi Fortin (BQ)

Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie: Alexandre Boulerice (NDP)

Saint-Hyacinthe—Bagot: Simon-Pierre Savard-Tremblay (BQ)

Saint-Jean: Christine Normandin (BQ)

Salaberry—Suroît: Claude DeBellefeuille (BQ)

Shefford: Andréanne Larouche (BQ)

Sherbrooke: Elisabeth Briere (Liberal)

St-Laurent: Emmanuella Lambropoulos (Liberal)

Thérèse-De Blainville: Louise Chabot (BQ)

Vaudreuil-Soulanges: Peter Schiefke (Liberal)

bottom of page